Quilting Day: Cutting Fabric

Happy Valentine’s Day!! It’s Friday so you know what that means, I’m quilting. But before I start cutting the fabric, I would like to say welcome to all the SITS Girls visiting today. I have enjoyed visiting everyone’s blogs. I have learned so much from each of you and you have given me inspiration.

Quilting DayEvery Friday I share my journey in making a quilt for my husband. This week, I finished cutting all the pieces for the quilt and next week I will start sewing.

I first cut out all the fat quarters. This was easy, I only had to cut out three pieces from each fat quarter.Cut Fat QuartersThen, I started cutting the sashing and the binding. Cutting strips of fabric that are 44 inches long makes me so nervous. I am scared that if I don’t have my fabric perfectly straight that I will have a strip of fabric that curves in the middle. Am I the only one that panics? I only bought enough fabric for the quilt so I have no room for error. But I did it. I think all my strips look straight but time will tell when I start to sew.Cutting StripsCome back next Friday when I hope to have my quilt top all pieced together.

You can see the pattern of my quilt HERE and the fabric that I picked out HERE.

Be Inspired,

Dena

16 thoughts on “Quilting Day: Cutting Fabric

  1. Cher says:

    I love to sew and quilt but since I discovered woodworking, my sewing “career” came to a halt. I’ve recently picked it up again and can’t believe how much I missed it! Good luck with your quilt – I’m sure it will be awesome!

  2. Cole Nemeth says:

    I’ve never been that interested in sewing, but my mom has been talking about wanting to try quilting forever now. I think quilts look awesome, can’t wait to check back in next Friday to see your progress 🙂

  3. Delia@eosgrafx says:

    I don’t really like to sew and I avoid it as much as possible 🙂 I think what you created looks awesome though 🙂 Lovely work, Dena!

  4. cynthial1956 says:

    I love quilting, but have not taken time for it lately. I am inspired by your post. The colors you chose are really beautiful and I can’t wait to see your quilt. I am here from #SITSBlogging!

  5. Dee says:

    I love quilts, but I really can’t sew a thing. Luckily, we’ve known some awesome ladies who made adorable quilts for the kids. I’ll have to visit next week to see what yours looks like. Dee, visiting from SITS 🙂

  6. Christina says:

    I lack in the sewing ability department but I have always wanted to make my own quilts. My Mother-in-Law makes them and has given us a few. But her taste in fabric is a bit different then mine. I look forward to seeing you start the actual sewing part. Maybe I will learn a thing or two then. 🙂

    Stopping by from #SITSBlogging.

Leave a Reply

